Winter Covers

posting disabled

Moderator: forumadmin

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 09, 2001 1:32 pm

I am considering the purchase of a fitted canvas winter cover for use with the mast up, boat on trailer.

Does anyone have any experience with them? Can you recommend any manufacturers in the US or Canada (Ontario preferred)? I am only familiar with Fairclough.

Thanks..........John Farmelo

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 09, 2001 10:01 pm

FWIW, nothing wrong with outdoor storage of course, but I would be concerned about mast up with a J/80. This is my first year with a J/80, but it seems to collect quite a bit of water in the bilge from weekend to weekend. I had this problem with a Pearson I once owned and stored mast up with shrink wrap. Water would collect and freeze all winter and by March I thought it was going to reach the sole and push it off or worse. With temps below freezing (Michigan) there wasn't much I could do to correct the problem in March. And the Pearson had a much greater volume bilge than the J/80. Again, FWIW...

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 09, 2001 10:24 pm

Try Kinder Industries at
http://www.kinder-industries.com/

I believe that they have made some covers for other J/80's

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 10, 2001 8:26 am

I cover the large opening at the top of the mast with some duct tape to keep water down. The bilge gets a little, but not a lot. I also run a low consumption fan below while I am away from the boat to help with humidity...seems to work well. West Marine sells them for about 40 dollars.

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 10, 2001 11:41 am

Do you put anti-freeze in the bilge as well?

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 10, 2001 1:49 pm

Last winter I covered it up with a plastic tarp, made sure there was good air flow....left front hatch open a bit, main hatch open a bit.....and she was dry as a bone come spring.

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 10, 2001 4:54 pm

John,

Where are you in Ontario? (The website will not allow me to e-mail you directly). I am in Toronto.