Page 1 of 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2001 2:40 pm
by Guest
The rules state that in class events, the genoa track must not be used. Can it be used for cross-sheating? Seems a common practice, but one that is prohibited by the letter of the rules, maybe not the intent.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2001 3:35 pm
by Guest
Altough it seems oddly delineated, the genoa track may be used for cross sheeting the jib sheets. Below are the applicable rules cut and pasted from the class rules:
C.4.2(b)(v) Installed genoa tracks for use in handicap racing only or as outlined in C.8.5 (a)(ii)
C.8.5 (a)(ii) Use of a turning block to cross-sheet the headsail to the windward primary winch.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2001 1:41 pm
by Guest
I am not sure what the rules say, but cross sheating is very effective and works well keeping the weight to windward (not leward) we use it on our J/80 But NOT in class events!