Spinnaker Halyard Question...

posting disabled

Moderator: forumadmin

Postby Guest » Sat Mar 23, 2002 7:38 am

I sail on a UK based J80 called Aqua J - I have a fair bit of experience racing 30' conventional yachts (and dinghies once upon a time) but I'm new to sportsboats . We have the Spinnaker halyard cleated by a RWO style captive single roller and cleat fitting just below the halyard exit on the mast.

This means that when the kite is hoisted someone needs to be at the mast doing "the dance of the sugar plum fairies" in full big boat style...I suppose this is not so bad on a bear away set, but do a gybe set and they end up stuck on the leeward side behind the boom. This somehow doesn't seem very "sportsboat" to me!

I was looking at the Melges 24 and they have a swivel jammer for the spi halyard exiting under the boom which seemed a more trendy & usable solution.

So the question is: What do forum members consider to be the most efficient means of hoisting and dropping the J80 spinnaker with regards to halyard use/position?

Many Thanks,

Peter

Postby Guest » Sun Mar 24, 2002 2:07 pm

my boat came rigged with the spin halyard run through a couple of turning blocks and coming into the cockpit, essentially right above the sprit outhaul. We hoist from there. A lot of the time our hoists are examples of the american phrase "*******'s and elbows" but you can get it pretty seamless with some practice.

I am not yet convinced that the mast cleat is class legal, although its use is widespread.

Steve
Ghoast Dancing

Postby Guest » Mon Mar 25, 2002 9:42 am