Cross-sheating using a block on the genoa track

posting disabled

Moderator: forumadmin

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 18, 2001 2:40 pm

The rules state that in class events, the genoa track must not be used. Can it be used for cross-sheating? Seems a common practice, but one that is prohibited by the letter of the rules, maybe not the intent.
Guest
 

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 18, 2001 3:35 pm

Altough it seems oddly delineated, the genoa track may be used for cross sheeting the jib sheets. Below are the applicable rules cut and pasted from the class rules:
C.4.2(b)(v) Installed genoa tracks for use in handicap racing only or as outlined in C.8.5 (a)(ii)
C.8.5 (a)(ii) Use of a turning block to cross-sheet the headsail to the windward primary winch.
Guest
 

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 20, 2001 1:41 pm

I am not sure what the rules say, but cross sheating is very effective and works well keeping the weight to windward (not leward) we use it on our J/80 But NOT in class events!
Guest
 


Return to Archived Class Rules Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron